

## Marion Soil and Water Conservation District

## Poster Theme: "May the Forest be with you"

<u>**Rules:**</u> For a complete list of contest rules and/or updates, please contact us at (352) 438-2475 or visit our website: <u>www.marionsoilandwater.org</u>

- 1. Open to all students in Marion County, grades K through 12<sup>th</sup>, on an individual basis.
- 2. Poster size must be 14" by 22".
- 3. Any media may be used to create a **<u>FLAT</u>** or two-dimensional effect. (i.e. crayons, paints, colored pencils, pen, charcoal, paper or other materials.)
- 4. The NACD Stewardship theme: **"Healthy Forests Healthy Communities"** MUST BE WRITTEN ON YOUR POSTER.
- 5. Official entry forms must be completed in full and taped to the back of the poster.
- 6. Failure to comply with these contest rules will disqualify the contestant. Entries can still be judged; however, no award(s) will be given for any disqualifications.

Divisions: K - 1<sup>st</sup>; 2<sup>nd</sup> - 3<sup>rd</sup>; 4<sup>th</sup> - 6<sup>th</sup>; 7<sup>th</sup> - 9<sup>th</sup>; 10<sup>th</sup> - 12<sup>th</sup>

Judging Criteria: Judges will score entries based on the following:

Conservation Message	50 points
Visual Effectiveness	30 points
Originality	10 points
Universal Appeal	10 points



<u>Awards:</u> The top three winners in each of the five divisions will receive awards. 1<sup>st</sup> Place (\$50), 2<sup>nd</sup> Place (\$25) and 3<sup>rd</sup> Place (\$10)

DEADLINE: Deliver posters to MSWCD 2710 East Silver Springs Blvd Ocala, FL 34470 by Thursday, December 21, 2023, 4 p.m. PLEASE CALL BEFORE DELIVERY.

**Participation:** MSWCD reserves the right to display poster entries, participant's names, school, etc. throughout the 2023-2024 school year. Division winners will be notified by MSWCD. First place wining posters will be forwarded to the next level of competition (Regional, State and National) and become the property of the contest. Posters may be picked up at the MSWCD after the regional contest.

MSWCD is not responsible for returning posters.

For additional info contact MSWCD (352) 438-2475 or at Ann.Bishop@marioncountyfl.org

Participation earns points towards the Youth Conservationist of the Year Award.